Posted by: lilyhamburger | January 17, 2010

picasa page for pictures

hi!

i came back to d’pur this week after the most intense adventure – i travelled around gujarat with 50 young teachers, none of whom spoke english. for 5 days we did a whirlwind of educational facilities, NGOs, ashrams, temples, natural wonders and historical sights. i learned a ton and saw so much, reaffirming the incredible diversity of life in india. at the end, completely exhausted, i met up with some other AJWS fellows and spend a day with them in Ahmedabad where – like all over the country – utatrayan, the national kite festival was celebrated. Mostly, I was simply thrilled to let loose with people who speak my language! Phew!

before i sit down to blog all about it, i want to tell you that i am going to use a picasa site to post pictures, simply because it lets me upload several at a time and this site doesn’t. so check this out: http://picasaweb.google.com/lilyhamburger/HolyCow#

More to come soon, but it’s time for tea 🙂 oh quickly, though, the highlight of my day yesterday was doing the hokey pokey with 15 10-12 year olds who were on my campus for a math training. the teacher asked me to come teach them head, shoulders, knees and toes (which i had done before) and after i did so they shared some songs with me in hindi, gujarati, and kognii, their tribal language. they had a hindi version of the hokey pokey that involved acting like a monster with horns at some point. haha! so i couldn’t resist telling them what it’s all about… 🙂

Responses

  1. Hey SISTER! Sanaa here, So sorry I haven’t left you a message yet my dear, I am so slow when it comes to technology, and was having trouble getting your blog, Andrew calls me his techno-phobe, but I’ve been doing some crash course reading this wknd. I showed Andrew the pictures you posted. I love you sister!

  2. Lily, Namaste! You look Indian in the henna photos. Seems like assimilation is happening. How’s your Gujarati? I’ve been enjoying very much reading your descriptions of experiences. Seems like such an affirming, expansive enterprise you’re embarked on.
    Love and hugs,
    Marcia


Leave a Reply

Categories

